A film: 300

300By Zack Snyder. He did a bunch of commercials and some fims, but it was his Dawn of the Dead remake that I really liked. I don’t really have a lot of time to go to the cinema these days, especially since it’s mostly crap they screen anyway but because of the director having done DOTD and knowing that it’s  adapted from Frank Miller’s work made me really really really want to see it. I love Sin City. But a Roberto Rodriguez film it was not. Hmph. I thought that maybe if the film didn’t live up to the hype then maybe the sight of lovely half naked muscly men would convince me. But, alas only ever so slightly. Although the flying rippling thigh-revealing thrusts were quite exciting, if I do say so myself. Yet I found myself wondering, when does the good stuff start happening? Cinematography is really pretty though, but two hours of decapitation after decapitation and zero character involvement made it drag on and on. And I’m already a big fan of exciting swashbuckling movies and slashing and dashing heroes and innumerable henchmen who die in particularly creative ways. How sad that this movie did not make me clap in delight.

It’s a better movie trailer than anything else, in my opinion. And I can’t believe some people have actually turned it into a political Bush vs. Ahmadinejad thing. It’s mindless entertainment at best, for crying out loud.

This entry was posted in Books, Films. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A film: 300

  1. jax says:

    oh come ON you know you clapped in glee when *SPOILER* that GUY got run right through in the gut!!! this won’t be quick. you won’t enjoy this.

  2. chrismiss says:

    Yes yes I did and that’s the part I wanted to write “except for this bit” but I couldn’t think of a way to do so without spoiling the plot so I left it out. SHHH!

  3. den says:

    i loved that part! i loved this movie! *bloodlust*

  4. Val says:

    I liked 300!!! Tch.
    If you want more Robert Rodriguez, watch The Grindhouse. I think it looks fun!

Comments are closed.