Brave new world

So today was a bit of a disaster. I forgot to validate my ticket on the tram this morning and literally 2 stops after I got on, two inspectors came on and asked everyone to show them their tickets. Now in the 15 months that I have been here, I have been checked several times and I have never been given a warning, or even a fine. Well, I always had a valid ticket on me. The guy didn’t care that I have been under a lot of stress for the past week, finishing up a semester, finding a new job, moving house, setting up the new home, getting used to a new neighbourhood. I think it’s safe to say I was somewhat preoccupied. I had a ticket but for some reason, I sat down without validating it. I usually have it ready by the time I’m on, so it’s really curious and out of character for me. Anyway, I’ll have to wait for the infringement notice letter before I can write to contest the fine. I should be able to get out of it. Otherwise that’s at least a $150 penalty, and I don’t want to have to pay that.

That incident kind of set a catastrophic tone to the entire day and it was all pretty blah from there.

I got more house-moving stress sometime during the day when I heard from my housemates that the gas company sent a notice that our meter hadn’t been read and asked us to call them to sort it out. I was at work and could not attend to it, the other girl was already at the airport for a couple of weeks’ visit back home and the other girl was insistent on finding the meter on her own. I’m almost certain that calling the gas company would have been better because they’d know where the meter is and perhaps may have even allowed her to take a reading herself and read it out to them. But tomorrow she’s also going out of town for three weeks, leaving me with a partly furnished home and stuff to sort out. I’ve already tried ringing the gas people twice but no luck. What’s going to happen is that they’ll send us an estimated bill which will probably be a lot higher than it would have been with a proper read in place. We’ll sort it out eventually.

I’m not totally put out by the girls’ lack of help around the house but it is kind of disappointing that they’re not as on board on making it a home as I had initially thought. There was a lot of talk about it while we were househunting though and I was convinced that we were on the same wavelength.

There isn’t anything I can do to make them contribute more and be more helpful, but I can make it an amazing new chapter in my life. That’s really all I have control over and I’m determined to make the most out of this experience. I’ve already decided I’m going to try to learn to make a dish every week, perhaps more if I have time but once a week learncooking is already a good goal. Especially for someone who sets smoke detectors off and burns everything she touches. I’ve never found cooking interesting before. It’s all very exciting to me now. I am particularly keen on learning how to make eggs benedict with hollandaise sauce, pepper steak, bruschetta, cauliflower and ricotta cheese and a few yummy desserts!

Oh and I bought a TV antenna for the secondhand TV I got a few days ago. One of the aerials snapped off within 5 minutes of me trying to get the best possible reception. A bit stressful cos I intend to host a mini housewarming / Argentina-Germany game on Saturday night. I fixed it by hooking it up to the Foxtel connection one of my housemates arranged to have installed here. Only no one else but her wants to pay for it (personally I want it but can’t afford to commit to another fixed monthly expense), so she’ll have to get it cancelled eventually. I imagine she’ll get around to it upon her return, so I have 2 weeks of lovely cable TV.

I made myself dinner and will probably crash early tonight as tomorrow is my first day at that new job! I got the design job I mentioned a few posts ago. It’s PAID work experience AND actual work. It’s possible they’ll keep me on for at least 12 months. So that’s worked out very well for me. And I still have that water job to keep me afloat. I’ve got a nice little apartment to turn into a home and I’m on break from grueling schoolwork (well, sort of).

I suppose facing a potential ticket fine isn’t TOO bad.

I haven’t had the chance to take any photos of the new place yet, plus the weather’s been atrocious lately. So while waiting, here’s a photo from when I was in Byron Bay last April. Ahhh, warm days.

This entry was posted in At work, Good to know, Learning, Melbourne, People. Bookmark the permalink.