Freeeeeeee time = must build empire

Woohoo I have my free time back! And I’ve been celebrating most of it by playing Imperia Online and being incredibly obsessed with developing my town. It’s kinda like Civilization but it is SO MUCH MORE THAN THAT.

Little town, full of little people...

Currently I have 7,336 people and I’ve been building granaries like crazy just to boost population growth. I need resources! They’re in love with me though (the people and probably the granaries too) cos I gave them like 5 farms already and am working towards a sixth – to raise the population limit. I need workers! Lazy villagers. All they do is eat the grain ugh. Ok to be fair, they’ve been working hard making me gold and iron and stone and lumber. The buildings I have to make are incredibly expensive. But I’m proud to say that the town is growing and developing well – I have a university and a military academy and an infantry barracks (even though I hardly have soldiers to train nor house yet). I even got a border outpost early on and did some research on espionage. Now I’ve got my eye on fortification and tactics – turning my little land into a bit of a mini US government there hehehe. I get about 5 daily rumors, which is proving to be very useful for future missions. Also I tried the spying out, I got a bit overzealous and foolishly sent someone to a neighboring land and tried to infiltrate. He got caught and they killed him! He probably needed more training. I sent a quick message to the owner, named Attila (of all things!). Apologised and offered an alliance. He was the perfect diplomat and said he was interested. I’m keeping my eye on that one from now on.

No I’m not done talking about it yet.

My town has become quite wealthy and now I need protection. I already have 100 archers garrisoned in the fortress, that cost heaps and heaps of stone and it’s slow – I have 3 stone quarries. But not enough workers! After that farm is built, I need yet another iron mine, making it number 7. I didn’t realise that iron extraction was so painstakingly slow, not to mention that it uses up a ton of workers to produce 1 measly unit in an hour! Huhu. I need to fit my swordsmen and spearmen already. I know I should be focusing on getting my trade and banking going but that costs a LOT of gold, so maybe I’ll pillage abandoned towns and maybe attack weaker ones first. Will think about becoming a bureaucrat (whatever that means) after I get rich and powerful. 

Mhmm Balzac was a wise man. He supposedly said, “Behind every great fortune lies a crime”. Which is sort of true but in his novel Le Père Goriot (which I probably should read), he says this:

“Le secret des grandes fortunes sans cause apparente est un crime oublié, parce qu’ il a été proprement fait.”

A nice english translation provided by someone is:

“The secret of a great success for which you are at a loss to account is a crime that has never been found out, because it was properly executed.”

Ok I’m done being dorky. For now.

This entry was posted in Good to know, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.