Books: 1st quarter 2010 – some odd realisations

I didn’t even notice I’d begun reading nonfiction in the last couple of years. I’m usually an observant person but I’m also usually looking at things outside of myself so I never notice what I’m up to unless I make a conscious effort. I had also considered nonfiction synonymous to school textbooks and dull things and thought of myself as a proud and very fun-to-be-with fiction reader. Anyway I’ve actually been reading more nonfiction these days, I suppose I only just do that to pass the time between releases of Murakami books. I was reading a book of supposedly riveting and insightful short stories with a post 9/11 setting but I have actually been afraid to pick it up since the last story about a lady who punished her husband’s infidelities by aborting their unborn child. I was traumatised. It was so detached and cold and just felt so wrong. Huhu.

So on to better things. I finally bought Mr Brownworth’s book! The paperback isn’t available until this coming May and I just couldn’t wait. Fortunately, the holiday season offers a ton of discounts and add to that a Christmas gift coupon and you’ve got yourself a very happy girl.

Lost to the West: The Forgotten Byzantine Empire That Rescued Western Civilization by Lars Brownworth

The title says all! It’s gonna be so good! Here’s a small trivia about me: I seem to have trouble pronouncing ‘Byzantine’. I am adding that to the list of words I can’t say properly. Another one is ‘percentage’. I really don’t know why, the more I practice, the worst I get. I am sometimes stupid.

And for a slightly less fun book. It’s a collection of essays about language and stuff. I’m just about to start reading it. I didn’t realise there was so much to be said about translation and its involved ethics. I find it all very curious. I take it back, I think it’s going to be very fun! Edward Said’s essay is the first one.

Nation, Language, and the Ethics of Translation edited by Sandra Bermann and Michael Wood

This entry was posted in Books, Films, Fun, Good to know, Language. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books: 1st quarter 2010 – some odd realisations

  1. i just want to know my contributions since i became a member of pag-ibig in the year 2007
    this is my email add myllator@yahoo.com

Comments are closed.